top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAMCOD ASDA

Dairy-Free Alfredo sauce

When I first began cooking for myself, I searched for recipes to foods that I loved and were fairly simple to make. I have always enjoyed pasta and was amazed at how easy it was to make homemade alfredo sauce. But like 75 percent of other African Americans, I am lactose-intolerant, and after years of fighting with my digestive system, I decided to ditch the heavy whipping cream and Parmesan-reggiano cheese for a healthier alternative. This recipe is just as creamy, cheesy, and rich as a regular dairy-based Alfredo, making it even more enjoyable to eat and digest.



This recipe is also vegan-friendly if you select vegan spices.


Serving Size: 2-3


Ingredients

1 cup of raw unsalted cashews

½ cup of diced white onion

3-4 minced garlic cloves

4 cups of spinach

¼ cup vegan cream cheese

4 tbs of nutritional yeast

2 tsp chicken bouillon powder

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp pepper

2 tsp olive oil


Instructions

1. Soak cashews in boiling hot water for 20 minutes. For softer cashews, soak cashews overnight.

2. Place soaked cashews, onion, garlic cloves, vegan cream cheese, nutritional yeast, parsley, salt, chicken bouillon and pepper into high-powered blender or food processor. Add 1 cup of cashew-soaked water to the blender. Blend until well mixed. I highly suggest soaking cashews overnight if you do not have a high-powered blender or food processor.

3. Heat skillet over medium heat. Add oil to pan. Add spinach to pan and turn consistently for 2-3 minutes or until all have wilted. Decrease heat to low. Add sauce to pan and mix with spinach until warm.

4. Serve sauce over cooked pasta and enjoy.



Recipe by Chinyere Enih, Class of 2024

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page