top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAMCOD ASDA

Out of State and the Air Force: A Perspective

I was born and raised in Albuquerque, New Mexico and completed my undergraduate education at The University of Arizona. In college, I was a part of a closely-knit athletic team, I had family that lived nearby, and home was just a short flight way. I was content. However, as my time in Arizona came to an end, I was faced with the abrupt reality of dental school in an unfamiliar city. As opportunities for interviews came, I grew concerned that my academic success and social comfort would become washed away with anxiety about friendships, living situations, hand skills, health, etc. in a place far from home.

I was blessed with eleven interview offers around the country, but I found my new home at Texas A&M. During the interview process, I was reminded by my dad, “You are interviewing them as much as they are interviewing you. It is important that both parties agree that it’s the right fit.” I had good experiences at each of the schools that I visited, but I felt exponentially more welcome at TAMCOD. I was impressed with their clinical reputation and excited about the knowledge I would gain from a challenging curriculum. However, I was most impressed to be associated with a class that is as diverse in demographics that we actually represent the city we live in.

The only thing I was unsure about (with any dental school) was how I was going to finance life as a dental student. That is when I was presented with the opportunity to apply for the Health Professions Scholarship Program with the Air Force. My grandfather, grandmother, and uncle all served, and I saw it as a great honor to get to provide healthcare to military members and their loved ones as a military dentist. I am happy to say that I received the scholarship and was commissioned earlier this spring as a Second Lieutenant. I am excited for the academic and clinical challenges ahead and I am thankful for the support from my family, friends, and TAMCOD faculty.


- contributed by Dan Tannen

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page