top of page
  • Writer's pictureTAMCOD ASDA

Dental school from a single mother's perspective

I have had many people, including students, professors, administrators, and family members ask me how I have made it this far through dental school as a single mom. When I volunteered to write an article, I had no idea what I would be asked to write about. However, I am happy to write about my experience as a single parent, and hope that it might inspire another single parent to continue with their aspirations, no matter what situation they might find themselves in.


I started my path to dentistry in 2012, when my older 2 children began grade school, by taking as many science credits as I could fit into my schedule each semester. I originally began to look for a new career because I needed one that would allow me to support my family on my own. I was inspired by and have always respected my cousin, who is currently an endodontist. Over the years, I have admired his dedication in doing something that took so many years of hard work but has turned out to be very rewarding for him.


I chose dentistry because it is a highly respectable career; you have the opportunity to be your own boss and conduct your business the way you feel is best, and you also have the ability to improve your patients’ health and appearance. Another reason I chose this path for myself is that I want to be a good example to my children. I wanted to show them firsthand that with hard work, they can accomplish anything. They are my biggest cheerleaders. I like that by becoming a dentist, I will be able to give back and make a positive impact by helping people who have hardships; this is something that I want to do because I know what it is like to be in need.


My journey has taken several twists and turns along the way. In January of 2014, I was forced to withdraw from my classes due to being hit in a car accident. I suffered a concussion and was in and out of the hospital and further suffered post-concussion syndrome. A year and a half later, in the fall of 2015, I was finally able to successfully finish my first semester with a full schedule.


In 2016, I was given the opportunity to participate in the SPEP Collegiate II summer enrichment program at Texas A&M College of Dentistry. I met so many wonderful people, including staff and students, who made me feel right at home. This helped solidify my desire to become a dentist. During the program, I found out that I was pregnant with my third child and I was determined to not let that stop me.


In 2017, I applied only to Texas A&M College of Dentistry because I was not able to move from the DFW area. I received an interview while 7 months pregnant with my youngest son. When I did not hear back by January 2017, I chose to apply for the post baccalaureate program. I felt that my biggest weakness was that I did not have a science degree and had only taken the minimum amount of science credits required. I was accepted into the post baccalaureate program in 2017 and successfully completed all requirements to be guaranteed a spot in dental school in 2018. Getting accepted into dental school was a huge stepping-stone in being able to attain my goals and dreams. I am so very grateful that I was afforded the opportunity to do that at Texas A&M.


Once the first year of dental school started, the reality of what I signed myself up for really sunk in. I am not going to sugar coat it, it was much more difficult than I ever realized it would be. Partly because I continued running Picture Perfect Photography (a photography business I started in 2008), but also because I chose to stay in Burleson. I needed to make sure that my baby was in a safe environment during the day. And since my mom was able to take care of him half of the day, I got up at 5:30am and drove from Burleson to Fort Worth to drop my son off and then drove to Dallas. I spent 3 to 4 hours a day in the car depending on the traffic. One of the hardest parts was transitioning into having a lot less time with my children and driving for so long every day. I have to admit that at times I felt guilty, as if I was not being a good mom, but I kept reminding myself that my children were the reason I was in dental school to begin with. Every day I waited to start studying until they went to sleep. Many times I only had a few hours of sleep. But I am happy to say, I was able to make it to every important activity that my kids had and we were still able to go on family vacations and spend time with friends.


In order to keep up with the workload my first year, I listened to lectures in the car every day. It is amazing how auditory learning actually worked for me. I know without it, I would not have been able to make the grades. Additionally, my friends at school helped me tremendously by sharing notes, study materials and encouraging me. I could not have done it without them. Due to my experience as a single mom, one goal that I have this year is to organize and start a student-run dental association for parents in dental school. I believe it could really help other parents with support, encouragement, and advice throughout their dental school career.


After graduating from dental school, my goal is to work as a general dentist for 4 years. After my older 2 children graduate from high school, I want to go back to school and specialize in pediatrics. Upon graduation from pediatrics, I plan to begin building my own practice. Additionally, throughout my career, I plan to take mission trips overseas, participate in dental research; particularly stem cell research, volunteer my time at Mission Arlington, and I would like to set up scholarships for single moms and students with disabilities.


When people ask me how I have done it, the real answer is that I have not done any of this on my own. I have learned that there is something greater than us out there, something that somehow keeps us going no matter what. Miraculously, there have been angels placed in my life. I am glad that I decided to put in the work to get here and I am so very grateful for all the blessings I have been given to help me make it where I am today. The biggest lesson I have learned is that if you believe in yourself and persevere, miraculous things will happen and somehow you make it.



Special thanks to ALL of the Angels in my life, I wouldn't be here without you.

Lori Wagley, Linda Pratchett, Shawn Heaton, Cookie Warner, Michelle Cosme, Esmeralda Banda, Ifechi Obi Nduka, Shane Ray, Dr. Shaun Logan, Dr. Jayne Reuben, Dr. Ernestine Lacy, Dr. Phillip Kramer, Dr. Alicia Spence, Dr. Paul Dechow, Ashly Okoli, Will Rudnicki, Courtney Favaloro, 2017 PBP students, and to many more supportive and wonderful friends.

For my inspiration: My beautiful children and my cousin:

Ethan Moore, Hope Moore, Blade Najera, and Matt Tonioli


Krystal Moore, Class of 2022


858 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page